Autumn Days in Düsseldorf

“Autumn, the year’s last, loveliest smile.”

– William Cullen Bryant

Image

Another week has passed, marking 6 weeks here in Germany. It can safely be said that the Summer has left us behind and Autumn is here; the mornings are cold and frosty, the trees are changing colour and the leaves are slowly falling to the ground.

The last week has been busy at times and at others, very very quiet! On Monday I had my usual day at school – a lesson with the year 5s, followed by the year 6s. This week in the year 6 class I was ‘paired up’ with one of the pupils (who I may potentially end up tutoring) to give her some extra support in the lesson. Tuesday was a quiet day, spent mostly at home with a brief, extremely excited trip to the Supermarket. Wednesday turned into quite a crazy day! My 8am start at work, first two periods of giving conversation classes on Australia (apparently I’m an expert) followed by sitting in a year 5 class for an hour whilst they did a class test in silence (this was particularly fun..not). After I was finished at school I dashed off to catch the tram over to the University as I had made an appointment to see one of the professors in charge of Germanistik (German Studies). I have been emailing the Uni for weeks trying to find out about the courses I can take but no one seems to be able to help me, hence why I decided (yet again) to make the lengthy journey over to the Campus. I had checked and double checked with the professor that we had the times and location of our meeting correct so was feeling pretty confident that I would soon get some answers to my questions… After getting off the tram at the wrong stop and having to walk a fair way to correct myself, I finally found the building I was looking for. I headed up to the first floor and began the search for Room 51. I swear that I walked down every single corridor checking the room numbers and checking the signs next to the doors but I found no sign of who I was looking for. The inside of the Uni buildings seem very ‘sterile’ and it felt more like I was wondering through deserted hospital wards than anything else. After a good 30 minutes of searching the first floor I decided to try and find someone to help, but was turned away with the reply “Sorry, I can’t help you with that”. Seriously annoying! After failing once again, I decided to slowly make my way back towards the school via Starbucks to pick up my new favourite drink (Vanilla latte.. yum!) as a treat for the stress. Despite my quick pit stop, I made it back to school in time for my 2:30pm meeting with the ladies of the Goethe English Network – a group of British Mum’s who organise projects and activities for the kids at school. This year I am the school’s representative and am in charge of the job application workshop that is running next week for the year 11s at school. The meeting was semi-successful, despite having to change arrangements due to exams the kids will be sitting next week.. I did leave the meeting with a gift of McVitie’s chocolate digestives though so I can’t complain! From School it was back into town to meet up with Julio, a Spanish FLA. We had a lovely time and had a good chat over Kaffee und Kuchen. After a very busy day, I finally got back home and was pleased to know that the next day was a day off!

Thursday was a well deserved quiet day although I did head into town for a spot of Schaufensterbummel (window shopping). On Friday I had to make a trip into school to print, photocopy and hand out the information on the job application workshop to the interested students. Not that that was entirely successful as only 3 out of 10 showed up..

And today, Saturday, finally the weekend! I woke up to such beautiful weather and despite the temperature registering as 3 degrees I decided to head out into the sunshine and catch the tram to the city centre. I did a spot of shopping (I needed a smart skirt for the workshop next week) and then after walking through a building site (pretty sure I wasn’t meant to be there but there was nothing to stop me), I went for a morning stroll in the Hofgarten. It was so beautiful and peaceful!

Image

Image

Image

Image Image