Hallo Herbstferien

After 5 not so hard weeks at work, Friday 18th brought with it the start of Nordrhein Westfalen’s Herbstferien (Autumn holiday). It seems like I’ve hardly been doing any work but now I have a 2 week long holiday to enjoy.

I was up bright and early on Friday morning (5am) and got myself ready to head to the airport. I was expecting the streets and transport to be fairly deserted but I was proved wrong, commuter time had already begun. It was not a long journey and I soon arrived at the airport with plenty of time to spare so treated myself to a very tasty hot chocolate. The plane boarded at 0830 and just one hour later I was back on British soil. After yet another train I arrived in Southampton just before midday, where I was met by Dom. We had a lovely weekend together, living the life of luxury eating lots of delicious food and on Saturday spent the day in Portsmouth.

Image

Image

Image

The weekend whizzed by and it was soon Monday morning – time to say goodbye and time for my next stop – Reading. I was only at home for 24 hours but was treated to a dinner of Roast Lamb (definitely missed Roasts) and was kindly supplied with some British essentials.. tea and cheddar amongst others, to take back to Germany with me.

After only 5 days in England, Tuesday marked my journey back to Germany. It was a long and rather stressful journey back – with delayed flights and AWOL trams to name only 2 problems. Oh well, am back safely and am ready for the start of another adventure tomorrow morning.. Heidelberg here I come!