London Calling

Off I go again, gallivanting and jet-setting, and this time it was a fleeting visit back to the UK. For any particular reason, I hear you ask, seeing as the holidays begin in just over a weeks time? My answer, not really, although there were a few things lined up for my enjoyment.

I left Dusseldorf late afternoon on Wednesday, after a nice cuppa tea with Julio, and touched down in the UK just before 7pm. Missing my connecting train back to RDG by a mere sixty seconds was seriously annoying but it gave me the opportunity to visit my beloved Cafe Nero. The rest of my evening worked out fine and I was so happy to crawl into my snuggle bed once I arrived back in the comfort of my home.

The excitement began on Thursday when Dom took me out for a celebratory end of (Uni) term meal. We went to a (relatively) new Thai restaurant in Henley and had such delicious food! Between the two of us we shared two tapas sets consisting of thai green curry, satay chicken, spring rolls and honey and ginger duck among other yummy things. We definitely be returning soon!

Image

Some of our tasty food!
Thai green curry, stir fry veg, jasmine rice and satay chicken @ Giggling Squid, Henley-on-Thames

After our lunch date I was delivered back home and then almost immediately whisked off by my Mum to go to the Theatre in London. Despite some heavy traffic on the M4, we arrived in London on time, with a few minutes to find our seats and make ourselves comfortable before the show started. Even the stage itself was spectacular…

Image

Any guesses as to what we saw? If you guessed Matilda, then you guessed right! The cast was absolutely amazing and I was seriously impressed by all the kids. At first I was slightly skeptical as to how the story would translate across into a Musical but they did it really well and there were plenty of catchy songs and laugh out loud moments.

Then on Friday, I was off again, back up to London but this time for an afternoon and evening with Dom. We started off our journey with a complimentary cup of mulled wine and mince pie from the nice people at RDG station and once up in London, saw the lights on Oxford Street, Regent Street and visited Liberty.

Image

Image

Selfridges, Oxford Street

We were up early on Saturday morning and checked out of the hotel, with luggage and packed breakfast in tow. After a short taxi ride, we arrived in Victoria Coach Station. It was time to experience, what can only be described as, the best-value journey to have ever been undertaken – the £1 one-way ticket to Köln. I was feeling slightly apprehensive after only paying ONE POUND for the journey and never having travelled with Megabus before, but I have to say, I was very impressed. We had the luxury of a whole seat to ourselves and even leg room for people who have legs… not only this, but we were also treated to complimentary wifi (until the Channel Tunnel). In all seriousness the journey was very comfortable, the bus was clean and tidy as well as modern and spacious. Definitely £1 well spent!

We arrived late evening (8pm) in Köln and we were back in my little flat by 10pm, having stopped along the way to pick up something to eat. Being back in Germany without any school in the coming week meant the countdown to the Christmas holidays and returning home could well and truly begin. One week to go!!