Catching some sun in Kaiserswerth

Waking up on Sunday morning to discover sunshine and blue skies, made for a very pleasant surprise. I had no real plans but decided to make the most of the lovely weather and head out to get some fresh air. By the time I was up and raring to go, it was already midday so that ruled out leaving the city. However, there are so many different ‘quarters’  that I haven’t properly explored yet so it seemed a good opportunity to start the process and I ended up picking out Stadtteil Kaiserswerth.

After a bus ride into town, I jumped onto the U-bahn in the direction of Wittlaer, northern Düsseldorf and settled in for my half an hour journey. It actually brought back a few memories as we passed through my old stop, near where I used to live, whilst spending some time in the city back during my gap year. To be honest, I wasn’t really sure where I was going but when we pulled into Klemensplatz, which seemed a popular stop for the locals too, I decided to get off the U-bahn and go for a walk about.

Kaiserswerth is another of Düsseldorf’s oldest areas, which only became part of the city in 1929, and is situated right on the banks of the Rhine. There is a lot of history surrounding Kaiserswerth, including the fact that it was a temporary seat for the Holy Roman Emperor Friedrich Barbarossa and also due to its strategic position, the town was captured and recaptured several times by the French , the Dutch and even the Spanish. Kaiserswerth also gained a lot of importance during the 19th century after the establishment of the Deaconess Clinic, which interestingly Florence Nightingale spent some time training and working at.

This part of Düsseldorf, though small, offers something special and is full of charm. The streets are lined with beautiful buildings and I found that there was quite a dutch influence in terms of the architecture and the sweet, cobbled streets.

IMG_5031

IMG_5028

IMG_5024

Venturing in all directions from the pretty Marktplatz (Market place) was something interesting to see, from the old Basilica on Stiftsplatz, the  Altes Zollhaus (old customs house), the city mill and right at the end of the market place, the magnificent river Rhine.

IMG_4997

Altes Zollhaus

IMG_4995

IMG_4988

Rathaus

I spent quite some time sat along the river promenade, watching people and barges go by. The path along the river seemed especially popular on this beautiful afternoon, I had obviously picked the right place to be!

IMG_5003

River Rhine

IMG_5015

After my time watching the world go by, I wandered back into the centre and slowly made my way via the tree lined walkway Burgweg towards the ruins of the Kaiserspfalz (Imperial Palace).

IMG_5047

Burgweg

IMG_5044

Kaiserspfalz

Not far away from the ruins are a number of cafes and beer gardens, which on this occasion I didn’t pay a visit too – however from what I’ve heard the Beer garden Galerie Burghofis a good place to stop for a refreshing drink or even a bite to eat.

For anyone in Düsseldorf, I would definitely recommend a visit to Kaiserswerth and in the coming, warmer months (I hope!) I would like to repeat my trip but this time perhaps via boat (Weisse Flotte) from the Altstadt.