Top 5 Places I Would Love To Revisit

When  it comes to planning trips and holidays, I am sometimes reluctant to return to places I have already visited. There are so many places that I haven’t been yet that they usually take priority on my travel list! However I have definitely been won over by a number of the destinations and below I have compiled a list of the top 5 places I would love to revisit!

***

1. Prague, Czech Republic

My first (and only) trip to Prague was back in 2004 at the tender age of 12 at the latter end of one of my family’s InterRail holidays. My memories of the city are somewhat blurred but I do remember finding the city rather charming. I think now that I am older and wiser (or maybe just older?) I would be in a better position to fully appreciate the city and further explore the various historical sights. High upon my list of places to revisit in the city are the castle and the Golden Lane, and having not seen or noticed them last time I would be interested in finding the Lennon Wall and wandering around the former Jewish quarter. So Prague, I’m sure we shall be meeting again!

Image by FidlerJan

Image by FidlerJan

 

2. Budapest, Hungary

Much like Prague, the last time I visited Hungary was rather a long time ago and somewhat of a short stop on our way down to Lake Balaton to visit a penfriend of mine. It seems recently that Budapest has grown in popularity as a tourist destination and the more I hear about the city from people who have travelled there, the more keen I am to return and rediscover the city for myself. I vaguely remember sights such as the Fisherman’s Bastian, Vajdahunyad Castle and the Hungarian Millennium Memorial on Hero’s Sqaure but would love to visit once again as well as, as you may have noticed on my Bucket List, take a dip in the relaxing waters of the Széchenyi Baths, further explore Buda Castle and Castle Hill, and perhaps also take a tour around the Hungarian Parliament Building.

 

Image by FidlerJan

Image by FidlerJan

 

3. New York, USA

I’m sure it is no surprise that New York has appeared on this list. Since visiting almost exactly two years ago I have fallen in love with this city and am eagerly waiting to return. Despite only having a few days to see the main sights, we managed to tick a number of attractions off the list but there are still so many things left to do which would make a return trip more than worthwhile! I would love to spend a little more time exploring the different neighbourhoods, spending more time across in Brooklyn and Williamsburg, as well as paying a few of the museums a visit.

View from Top of the Rock

View from Top of the Rock

For my New York photo diary click here

 

4. Mauritius

My first trip outside Europe took me to the exotic island of Mauritius situated in the Indian Ocean, about two thousand kilometers off the coast of southeastern Africa. Having only ever flown to Germany and back with a journey time of approx 1.5 hours, the 12 hour flight from London to Mauritius was certainly an adventure for me! My nose was permanently stuck to the window, looking at the stunning views beneath us, although I must admit I was rather relieved when we touched down in our destination. The week spent in Mauritius was incredibly relaxing and the scenery was that of dreams! During our stay, we stayed on the southern side of the island in the Bluebay Marine Park area but I would definitely love to make it back one day and  explore more of what the island has to offer. The Black River Gorges National Park, the capital of Port Louis, The Château de Labourdonnais and the Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam Botanical Garden in Pampelmousses (along with many more) are all on my list!

Image from cdn.africatravelresource.com

Image from cdn.africatravelresource.com

 

5. Crete, Greece

Visiting the island of Crete was my first experience of Greece and all in all it was a very pleasant one. The holiday was in fact booked last minute and perhaps if we had had a little more time to plan and research we would have chosen to stay in a different part of the island, rather than the small fishing of village of Sissi. Having said that, Sissi was very lovely, we stayed in a great hotel and the transfer to the airport was not at all long – although we did have to travel through party town Malia in the early hours of the morning on our way back home! During our stay we managed to fit in a trip to the island’s capital Heraklion and also went on a tour which took us east, to Mirabello Bay and the surrounding towns of Elounda and Agios Nikolaos. We also took a boat across to Spinalonga, which between 1903 to 1957 was used as a leper colony. The holiday was very enjoyable although I came away with a number of things I hadn’t been able to do, due to a lack of time and money. If I could return to Crete, I would love to visit the western coast of the island and see the Venetian styled towns of Rethymno and Chania, visit the ancient city (now archaeological site) of Knossos and of course go hiking in/ through the Samaria Gorge.

Agios Nikolaos

Agios Nikolaos

 

 ***

Where have you been that you would love to revisit? 

Do let me know in the comments below!

V x