MONTHLY OVERVIEW (+UPDATE): MAY 2015

I am finally back in the world of blogging and that can mean only one thing – I have completed my degree and survived the process! The final ‘pens down’ was now two weeks ago but the past fortnight has been rather hectic; packing up my room, enjoying Graduation Ball with my uni friends, moving back home and of course starting the application process for jobs. But now that the storm has cleared, I am back, ready for my travels and for my ‘come back’ in the blogger-sphere!

As I mentioned in my 2015 Travel Plans post back in January, I have rather a lot to look forward to over the coming months. Before I embark on my transition into the world of work, I have a summer of travelling to enjoy, kicking off in just ten days when I hop aboard the plane and fly south to the Portuguese archipelago of Madeira for a week of exploring. Madeira was first claimed by Portuguese sailors under the control of Prince Henry the Navigator in 1419 and is considered the first territorial discovery of the exploratory period of the Portuguese Age of Discovery. Nowadays, the island is popular with all sorts of tourists – cruise ship visitors, nature lovers, adventure seekers and those in search of some sunshine! It is particularly well known for Madeira wine, exotic flowers and vegetation, stunning landscapes and embroidery artisans.

A short while after my Portuguese getaway and after a few days at home, it will be time to return to the airport as Istanbul will be expecting me! I am very excited at the thought of spending five days in the cosmopolitan melting pot which spans both the European and Asian continents, and to visit its beautiful sights including the Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar!

Image by Bjørn Christian Tørrissen from Wikimedia

Image by Bjørn Christian Tørrissen from Wikimedia

Later on in July and just before my Graduation ceremony, I will be heading up to the charming city of York to indulge in some VIP treatment. This was actually not on the cards before but as a complete surprise, it turns out I won first prize in a photography competition with a snap from my trip to Paris last year. Not too shabby at all..!

Image from Wikimedia by Andy

Image from Wikimedia by Andy

Then, the final trip of the summer will be a traditional Dovaston tour. We will be heading across the channel to Europe to visit a handful of cities which are completely new to me including Lübeck, Hamburg, Copenhagen, Stockholm, Oslo and Gothenburg. It is safe to say that I am very much looking forward to my first Scandinavian adventure and of course it will be great to be back in the Vaterland!

Image from TripAdvisor

Image from TripAdvisor

When I am finally back in the UK it will be time to concentrate on finding myself on a job, but I am positive that I will be back on the road soon as soon as I can!

If you have some tips or recommendations for any of the destinations that I will be visiting, please do share them in the comments below! I would love to hear them!

Love,

V x